Let the Games Begin.

No, not the Olympics. Or the Hunger Games. Or the X-Games, which is how I initially described this reading-for-twenty-four-hours venture.

It’s almost time for Dewey’s Readathon!

I’ve been excited about this for a while, but all the more so this week, mostly because it’s been a really stressful one in which I have far too many commitments converging at once. So even though this is a pretty big commitment in and of itself, I’m so happy to be doing it.

Anyhow, I have to admit I’m not super psyched about my start time (7am, what the hell?), so because I am not a morning person in the slightest, I’m going to start with something I know.

Namely, Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice. If you remember, waaaaaay back in the day when I first started this blog, this was my first post ever. And because of school and lack of access to the other two books, and so on and so forth, I never got to the other two books.

Well, I have them now!

DSC01226

Cheese-tastic covers aside, I’m so pumped to finally finish this series, and I’m definitely going to do it tomorrow. And since I loathe mornings so much and can’t think adequately during them, I can just brush up and ease into it with the first one.

Moving on, I’ll be focusing on Family Secrets, a non-fiction account of the case (and gathering of evidence) that led to the severe crippling of the Chicago Mob. I started reading it back in fall, loved it, put aside to study for finals, and never got back to it. Now’s as good a time as any to finish it. Yay crime. And I also have Hiroshima, which was assigned for my literary journalism class in fall and which simultaneously broke my heart and made me fall in love. It’s about the immediate impact and aftermath of the atomic bomb on that city, and it’s as gut-wrenching as yo might expect. It’s also really beautifully written.

For my classic reads, I want to get at least to the halfway mark of Les Miserables, and I’m going to be re-reading Beowulf, because I love that poem, it IS National Poetry Month, and it’s been a while since I read it.

In the literary department, I have In the Samurai’s Garden, which I got for Christmas and have no idea what it’s about, and Never a City So Real, a collection of short stories about Chicago that my boss gave me because she wasn’t interested in it. I’m frankly more interested in the former than the latter, but hopefully I can get to both.

For easy books, I have Artemis Fowl, which I’ve heard really good things about but never read beyond one chapter, and Wolverine by Chris Claremont and Frank Miller, which I’m pumped about since I’ve never read any of the X-Men comics before. And then if I want to go to something familiar, The Hobbit and the Howl’s Moving Castle books.

24hrreading1-thumb

I’m still working out how I’m going to update this. I think I’m going to tweet if I come across a quote I like, and I think I’m going to do updates on the blog every six hours. So four blog posts, that’s not too bad. We’ll see how articulate they are after 18 hours.

Let’s do this, and see you tomorrow!

10 thoughts on “Let the Games Begin.

    • It’s going to be tough enough without the wrangle of getting into my equipment. Plus I like my sweatshirts. And yes, the curtain thing is quite cool, though it’s also broken so I have to adjust them by just pulling the rope 😛

    • The chair is indeed awesome, so awesome, in fact, that I stayed up way later than I should have trying to fix it last night, and as a result am way more sleep-deprived than I ought to be. But it’s very comfortable, so it’s worth it 🙂

  1. Well, here’s a belated good luck! Also to keep in the theme of the chair comments… I HAVE THAT SAME CHAIR! And have been living in it recently as I work on my Tolkien project. If there’s anywhere to be sitting for a 24-hour period, it’s there. I highly approve of your choice.

Comment!

