The X-Games Literature-style: or could YOU survive 24 hours of reading?

I spend a lot of time reading, and it’s easily my favorite leisure activity. Frequent are my complaints that I could spend all day with books if I had the time.

Well, on April 27th starting at 7 am, I’ll be able to put those words to the test.

I’d heard vague rumors about a twenty-four hour reading marathon when I started book blogging, but didn’t really look into it in any kind of depth. And then Becky blogged about it, and I realized that not only does it exist, but a lot of people participate. Like, a lot of people. More than 150. Take a look.

So not only does this mean that there are a lot of people out there as touched in the head about books as I am, but we will all be reading together. That’s really cool. And given that I have a terrifying stack of books to read, I think it’s time I made some headway into these

This isn't anywhere near the number of books I would like to read, nor does it count those on my iPad. And I forgot a couple books.

This isn’t anywhere near the number of books I would like to read/re-read, nor does it count those on my iPad. And I forgot a couple books when trying to collect all the ones I still had to finish.

books, and given that it’s a Saturday that isn’t too far into spring quarter, I may well be able to get some major reading done. Plus it’ll give me an excuse to buy a whole box of Oreos for myself. Or maybe  a jar of Nutella. I haven’t really decided yet.

Either way, I really hope that other people out there will give this a look. Reading for a day not only is a chance to purely indulge in one of the most fulfilling activities out there, but it’s also a fun way to keep tabs on what other people like to read and how we all go about taking on the challenges of huge chunks of literature.

Also it’ll be amusing to see how deranged I get after the first twelve hours. I’ve never pulled an all-nighter before, so this will be an excellent way to log my first. The fact that it won’t involve anguished paper writing is an added bonus.

readathon2dewey-300x300

Anyone care to join us?

8 thoughts on “The X-Games Literature-style: or could YOU survive 24 hours of reading?

  1. You’ve never pulled an all nighter before? That is crazyyyyyy, it’s like a rite of passage. 😛 It is difficult I’m not going to lie, but tea caffeine helps. I think we will definitely go deranged half way through this challenge is going to be so tough. It might be quite funny though watching each other fall into insanity.
    I wonder if we will actually be able to stay up the whole 24hrs….it seems unlikely. Will you be updating your blog a lot as you go along?

    P.S. Great stack of books!

    P.P.S. I have no idea which ones I’m going to read yet it’s impossible to pick. :S

    P. P. P. S. Thanks for the mention. 🙂

    • Nope, never done it. I love my sleep too much, so if I ever get a chance to sleep, I always will do so. And yeah- I’ve heard from my more seasoned friends that it’s a very difficult thing. I figure stopping by a Starbucks in the middle of the day might help a bit. I can listen to an audiobook while I walk 🙂 And yeah, I have a feeling the blog entries will get less and less coherent as the night goes on. But they’ll still be fun to read, I think. I’m looking forward to them, anyway.
      You can do it! Just stock up on sugar and caffeine. And yes, I’ll be updating the blog. I think I’m going to do an update every six hours.

      Thank you!

      I KNOW! There are just too many…

      No problem 🙂

      • Ha ha Starbucks would definitely be a good idea.

        Ahh right that’s cool, I’m not totally sure what I will do in terms of updating yet, I’ll definitely participate in the opening and closing meme and then any other fun ones that turn up, I might update every five hours or something like that in terms of amount read etc, and just jot down any extra thoughts I get as I go on – if I have any!

  2. Pingback: An obituary for an electric kettle | Thoughts, Words, Deeds, Actions

Comment!

