Tagging Trivias

I was tagged to answer eleven questions by Elizabeth R. at Quite Novel, and since I appreciate the chance to talk about myself even more than usual, I will answer them here. However since I know some people like to keep their blogs focused one whatever their interests are as opposed to personal stuff, I’ll leave my questions open to either being taken for a blog post or answered in the comments. If any of my questions at the end look like fun- have at them!

What movie terrified you the most? Why?
Don’t laugh at me- but the first movie to legitimately scare me was the M. Night Shymalan movie Signs. I know that this movie is considered terrible by a lot of people, and I can understand why it doesn’t work for everyone, but this scene never ever fails to turn me into a shaking mess. And really, any moment like this- where there’s no music and a character’s alone in the dark with some unseen menace- I will be found under the nearest blanket asking when it’s over.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live? What time?
Anywhere in the world-I think I’d like to move around every year or so, assuming I had the funds for it. I like exploring. But time… to be honest, I like where I’m living right now. There are problems, yeah, but I feel like if I’d lived at any other time, I wouldn’t have the access to learning and the chance to support myself as I do now.
Plus I’m comfortably sitting in my room snacking on black licorice, so at the moment life is pretty good.

The subject you disliked the most in school?
Chemistry. I don’t like science much to begin with, and as far as boring topics and mind-melting concepts go, this class took the cake. Right now the closest I’ve come to needing chemistry is watching Breaking Bad… and even then it’s not necessary to understand that finely-tuned chronicle of misery, even if the nitpicker in me wants to know if the stuff they’re saying about chemistry is accurate.

Who is your favorite Disney character?
Oh. Crap. This is tough- are we talking villains here, or princesses, or sidekicks? I guess the character I probably enjoy most is Jafar. He was a pretty awesome villain, both as contrast to Aladdin and just in general.

What usual habits do you have?
I’m always reading. And I have to have at least two books on me wherever I go- one for reading and a notebook for writing down story ideas. I’ve found the hard way I get very restless without one or the other.
I also love chewing ice. Between this and my tea-drinking habit, my forty-year-old self is going to hunt me down and kill me for her dentist bill.

Which 3 people in history would you like to have over for dinner?
Ernest Shackleton, who tried to lead an expedition to the South Pole, lost his ship in the ice, and was somehow able to lead his entire crew to safety and eventual rescue; Jane Austen, because I really really wish I could have met her; and Mary Lou Retton, because she was one of my idols growing up.

What makes you smile?
A lot of things. My little brothers and sisters. P.G. Wodehouse. A really good book that I need to share with everyone. But the thing that will get me smiling for a very long time is whenever anyone tells me they enjoyed my writing.

If you could change the name of your blog, what would it be?
I have to admit I like the name of my blog- even if it is a mouthful. But if I were to change it, I think it would be “Don’t Let Me Detain You”, in honor of my favorite tyrant/ruler/benevolent dictator, Lord Vetinari of Ankh-Morpork.

What is your favorite childhood memory?
My gymnastics lessons and time with my team. The girls and coaches gave me some of the best memories I have as a child.

Who is your least favorite author? Or least favorite book written by a favorite author?
My least favorite author is EL James. Not just because the books she’s written are poorly written, barely altered fanfic, but because her story objectifies and demeans women, belittles the concept of a healthy relationship in favor of a deep twisted interaction, and glamorizes abuse. The kicker is that she recognizes how messed up her Fifty Shades series is, and yet is fine with selling it as a romantic love story.

So here are my eleven questions for others, as per the rules of the game. And again, if you want to answer these as a blog post or in the comments- feel free to do so!

What fictional world would you like to visit, if any?
If you were offered three wishes, what would they be? Would you wish at all?
What’s the most memorable dream you’ve had?
Where’d you take your best vacation?
Do you like professional sports or hate them with the fire of a thousand suns?
What’s your favorite time-wasting activity?
What book/movie/tv show do you like that everyone around you hates?
Who’s your favorite superhero?
Tea or coffee?
If you could have coffee/tea with any celebrity, who would it be and why?
The world will end in a month. What do you do till the Earth blows up?

9 thoughts on “Tagging Trivias

  1. I love your writing! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Interesting answers, I always find that Signs scene cool too, although now whenever I watch that movie, the Scary Movie parody always pops into my head.

    Hmm, this looks like fun, I’ll give it a go.
    What fictional world would you like to visit, if any? I want to visit Hogwarts dammit! I’m still waiting for my letter via owl. They have Hippogriff’s, dragons, nargles, house elfs and moving staircases, what more do you need?
    If you were offered three wishes, what would they be? Would you wish at all? Hmmmm…I probably wouldn’t use them, there’s always a price for magic.
    Whatโ€™s the most memorable dream youโ€™ve had? The one I wrote about on my blog a while back http://beckysblogs.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/on-dreaming-about-books/ and also a recurring nightmare I have where it turns out my whole house is rotten and all the walls are filled with snakes. Bleeurg!
    Whereโ€™d you take your best vacation? New York City.
    Do you like professional sports or hate them with the fire of a thousand suns? I’m not really interested in sport althogether, the only thing I watch is the gymnastics.
    Whatโ€™s your favorite time-wasting activity? Checking my blog stats. :L
    What book/movie/tv show do you like that everyone around you hates? Hmmm..there are none that I know of, but I’m pretty sure my friends wouldn’t like Falling Skies or The XFiles.
    Whoโ€™s your favorite superhero? I don’t really like superheroes all that much. Can I say Cat Woman? That Halie Berry film was kick ass.
    Tea or coffee? TEEEEAAAAA! ๐Ÿ˜€
    If you could have coffee/tea with any celebrity, who would it be and why? Does Emily Bronte count? I would love to spend some quality time with her and pick her brains!
    The world will end in a month. What do you do till the Earth blows up? Try desperately to read my entire tbr pile, and book a holiday to use all my savings.

    • Haha, thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m trying to do more of it, I swear.
      That dream is completely awesome- not to mention very beautifully written. And ugh, that nightmare sounds nasty.
      Oh man, I’m so glad I’m not the only one who endlessly checks my blog stats. You’d think I’d have realized by now that they won’t change much unless I actually write stuff for the thing…
      Oooh, I like the XFiles too! Though I haven’t watched it in a while. For me it’s The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis- I know so many people who can’t stand that book, but I actually really liked it :/
      I’m drinking tea right now, actually *toasts you for answering the questions*
      Emily Bronte would be very cool. And I like the end of the world plans as well ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Thank you, the weird thing is, it’s kind of dystopian sounding, but the dream was before I even knew what dystopian was. ๐Ÿ˜›
        Haha ohh god yeah, I’m exactly the same, and you just sit there refreshing. It’s the first thing I do in the morning, and the last thing I do at night. Quite sad I know, but it’s just so addictive! I’m glad I’m not the only one too!
        The Last Battle, hmm. As a child I never got far enough to read that one, its a series that I might revisit at some point. I only read The Magician’s Nephew, The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, and I think the start of another one… I found them quite difficult to read when i wa younger. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’d visit Middle-Earth;live in either Rivendell or the Shire, one of the two.
    Three wishes? Dunno, there are a lot of things I’d wish for. Rather than give some dull, sentimental answer on the frailty of human nature or something ike that, I’d just say Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Pie (happiness- you say tomahto)
    Most vivid dream: zombies destroying my house. Yeah.
    Best vacation: London. No question.
    Sports teams? Well, we shared the room, and since you liked to stay up till ungodly hours cheering on the Penguins, what choice do I have? Pens love; it’s contagious.
    Wasting time activity? Watching the BBC.
    Movie that I like most people hate? Devil. I don’t know, hardly anyone I talk to likes it, but I think it’s pretty cool.
    Favorite superhero? Captain America. (Soldier, man out of time….hell yeah.)
    Tea or coffee? Tea.
    Tea with a celebrity? David Tennant. He’s hot, Scottish, and very funny. What more can you ask for?
    What do I do till the earth blows up? Call the Doctor; he’s dealt with it before.

    • Same here, though I’d pick Rohan as the place to visit.
      Interesting dream, I have to say- I thought you’d have said that statue coming to life.
      Pens love being contagious is always good ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yeah… I’m always going to be an Iron Man girl. He’s an interesting character, even if he can be kind of awful.
      Tom Hiddleston, who’s my pick ๐Ÿ˜›
      I like that solution to the earth blowing up, by the way.

  3. Although the ending is a bit weak, I thought Signs was a good film as well. I was expecting the clip to be the scene from the children’s party.

    That bit really was bloody creepy.

    How old are you brothers and sisters, by the way? For some reason, I imagined that you were an only child.

    Your question about professional sports comes at an interesting time, for me. The Olympics has been absolutely fantastic as far as I’m concerned, and it’s going to be a real shame when it finishes.

    The professional football season is due to start in about a week’s time, and I just couldn’t give a toss about it. My interest in it has been on the wane for some years, and the Olympics have been another nail in the coffin.

    • That bit made me jump, but it didn’t give me the complete raw terror that the cornfield scene did. I’m a huge wuss when it comes to the dark and being alone- it’s never a good combo.
      They’re all younger than me and I’m in college. Odd that I’ve come across as an only child, though, as there are quite a few of us.

      I do like the Olympics, but I find them sort of exhausting after a while, plus NBC didn’t do a good job covering them on our end- in fact they did a really lousy one. And I admit to loving professional hockey (though in that particular sport, I like watching the Olympic version better. But it’s a great game), so I’m looking forward to that. More than that though- I don’t get super involved.

Comment!

