Some belated blogging awards, Goodreads, and Camp NaNoWriMo

I was nominated for a couple blogging awards in the span of the last few months, and because I’m a lazy and forgetful person, never actually got around to passing them on. Plus I’m on Goodreads and am doing Camp NaNoWriMo, so I wanted take care of it all in a housekeeping post of sorts.

To me the main reason for blogging awards is making sure people can discover new blogs and hopefully come across something they find interesting. I’m going to be bending the rules a bit, since I’m not really as active in the blogging world as I should be. But I’ll give it a whirl and hopefully you’ll find some interesting people!

The first award was the Candle Lighter Award, given to me back in March (yikes, I really need to get better at general prompt responses in blogging…) by the lovely Becky Day, who blogs at Blogs-of-a-Bookaholic. The reward is For those who believe, who always survive the day and those who never stop dreaming; for those who cannot quit, for those who keep trying.” This in my opinion, should most definitely go to FearfulFantasist for steadfast dedication to writing and storytelling, even in the face of  writing struggles (and really what writer or blogger hasn’t dealt with those at some time or another?). The blog also features the occasional book review and excerpts from original works, all of which are a blast to read.

More recently (as in within the past 10 days) I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by Mary at ToTheBalcony (which I suggest you all check out if you like book reviews and essays on some really varied works). Thank you so much for this, Mary!

This requires the nomination and linkage to 15 other blogs, as well as 7 things about myself that people didn’t know about me. This one is a bit trickier for me because I actually have a very hard time coming up with 15 blogs off the top of my head to nominate in my turn, and I don’t want to follow someone merely for the sake of following so I can distribute the award.

So what I opted for was to list as many  blogs as I could for nomination, then others that I’ve found entertaining and useful as a reader and writer. Also, for the people mentioned here: you don’t have to re-distribute or pass along the award if you prefer to not do so. I’ve seen good arguments for and against blogging awards, so do as you please with your selection and consider your award already well and truly won. My goal here is to hopefully link people to sites they might not otherwise have found.

So without further ado:
Quite Novel– Love this blog, both essays and book reviews. It’s well written, and Elizabeth has very good taste in books.
The Ten Bells– Lovely advice on writing to be found here, especially on blogging and the usefulness of the act itself.
The Write Life– If you’re an aspiring writer looking for someone who gets the rough parts, I think this blog is fantastic, even if it has been a while since it last updated.
Novels From The Ground Up– Really helpful and encouraging if you’re trying to get through NaNo and finish a story (trying to finish three on my end…)
Werewolves and Shotglasses– There are a lot of useful links for aspiring writers, many interesting essays, and an occasional literary news related post.
Ghost Cities– Primarily dedicated to horror, with many informative and interesting posts about authors and books. Also has very enjoyable ghost stories.
Escaping Reality with Books– A newly begun blog that has quite a promising start with four book reviews already up and running. Check it out and show some support, as I don’t think there can ever be too many book bloggers 🙂
armindakate– Each snippet of writing featured on this blog is vivid and clear without excess words. The pieces range in tone from charming to spooky to heartbreaking, and all are worth reading. Almost all the works posted here have made me stop and think in some way or another.

Now for the others that I don’t think go in for awards but are still a blast to browse around in:
404– If you are a geek and a girl, you will probably find something to greatly enjoy in this particular blog. There’s a lot going on here and a lot to browse around in with discussion posts for various shows, fangirl essays, and so on. Though it is targeted primarily at women, I’m sure guys could find something to enjoy there as well.
Heirs of Durin– A go-to source for all news relating to The Hobbit film and the ramifications thereof. Lots of pictures, links to interviews, and a few bonus side pages that should please any Tolkien geek (one of my poems is featured in the fanfiction page 🙂 ).
A Room of One’s Own– Dedicated to reading the classics. If you’re at all familiar with the works involved, watching others discover them is a real joy.
Magnificent Nose– More writing advice from different perspectives, quite helpful when wrestling with ideas and how to articulate them.

So now for seven things about myself:

  1. I play ice hockey.
  2. I love mystery stories as well as fantasies. My favorite detectives are Tommy and Tuppence Beresford by Agatha Christie, Roderick Alleyn by Ngaio Marsh, Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, and Brother Cadfael by Ellis Peters. Gideon Oliver by Aaron Elkins deserves an honorable mention as well.
  3.  Pirates of Penzance is my favorite musical.
  4. I love war history. WWI and WWII are my favorites to study, but I’m trying to get some more books about the American Civil War and have been able to find some firsthand accounts of the Vietnam War.
  5. I have some of the worst handwriting known to mankind.
  6. I’m currently working on three different novels, two short stories, and several fanfictions.
  7. If I could afford it, I would love to go skydiving.

I am on Goodreads, as said above, and the link to my profile is here. If you want to add me as a friend, let me know via message that you found me through the blog, and I’ll be sure to add you.

Lastly, I am participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this June as an effort to get one my story ideas into better shape and see how it works in long form. If any of you lot happen to be participating, let me know! I love discussing writing, in case you couldn’t really tell.  Let’s push through the word count together!

8 thoughts on “Some belated blogging awards, Goodreads, and Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Wooo! Congrats on your awards Maggie you deserve them 🙂 I hope your NanoWriMo goes well, it sounds impossible to me!

    I will definitely be checking out all the names that are new to me on this list. I love finding great new bloggers. .

    • Thank you so much! And oh gosh, you have no idea. The premise that I have is one that I love, but trying to get it into novel form and actually finish it is almost impossible. I’m really bad at starting stories and never actually finishing them.

      Woohoo- my mission is accomplished!

  2. Congratulations on the awards, and thanks so much for the link! I haven’t checked my subscriptions these past few days so I saw that I was linked through looking at my stats, so I was a little late on thanking, but I really do appreciate it. 🙂

Comment!

