Guest Poetry- The Devil’s In The Desert

I’m not sure how many of you know this, but I come from a large family. A very talented family, whose abilities in the realms of art, acting, reading, and general understanding all overshadow mine. This post is a showcasing of that ability- this poem was written by my sister after she read this scribbling (quite literally a scribble, I wrote it while waiting at a train station), and her work is superior to mine in pretty much every respect. So enjoy this glimpse into the verse of my very talented younger sister!

The Devil’s In The Desert

Heat breaks in a sandstorm.
Dust and wind collide.
Spirit manic, screams and panic;
Serpent with the earth allied.
The devil’s in the desert.
Feeble mortals, run and hide.

Cackling with the vultures
The hapless beasts below
Bodies quaking, limbs all shaking,
Feel the coming of the foe.
The devil’s in the desert.
Nothing born and none to grow.

Shrieking like a madman
In a cloud of dust and death
A roaring wall to smother all
The feeble gasps of life and breath.
The devil’s in the desert.
Save the corpses, nothing left.

Land without a future.
Land without a past.
Withered fens and bones of men;
Death and silence ever last.
The devil’s in the desert.
Heaven and the earth’s outcast.

Just to make it clear- written by my younger sister. NOT me. Let us know what you thought!

13 thoughts on “Guest Poetry- The Devil’s In The Desert

  1. Amazing! In the past I’ve always disliked poetry – all those endless hours pouring over it in school. But the more I come across it on wordpress, the more I realise it’s value, and that there really is some good poetry out there. Nearly all of the poetry I studied at school I hated, but now I’m much more willing and open to read it. I large part of that I owe to this blog.
    Maggie ( I hope that’s your name :S) and sis, you rock!

    Dust and wind collide.
    Spirit manic, screams and panic;
    Serpent with the earth allied.

    Collide, allied. How an earth did you ever come up with that? Genius!

    • I like informal and very image-heavy poems a lot- and I will admit to liking some of the older ones as long as they’re either short or narrative. So I have mixed feelings on poetry- I don’t hate it, but I’m not exactly wild about it either. But I’m oddly happy that the blog helped 🙂
      (And yes, my name is Maggie :D)

      I have a feeling you’ll make my sister’s day when she sees this comment. And no, I have not a clue how she came up with those kinds of rhymes, but I’m in awe of her skills. She’s very good at this sort of thing…

  2. That just blew my mind! Seriously, I was transported from my room into a desert world of madness and horror, and in a very emotional, natural way that felt just right. I’m a fan.

  3. As you said, that is very impressive! Amazing imagery and depth of feeling for a topic that, unless your sister has spent much time in the desert, is mostly alien to us. It feels more polished than your writing, but not of a different sort entirely. You have the same abilities, they just need a little refining. Taking classes, such as you’re doing, will probably help with that.

    • It’s winding down, though- and if my efforts at the last are anything to judge by, I really haven’t learned very much 😛 Poetry has never been my main interest or strong point anyway- I wish I could say I took the class for it’s own sake, but it’s only because it was a pre-req for the reading and writing fiction class, which is where my main interests lie. But thank you for the encouragement; it’s much appreciated 🙂

  4. Pingback: Q and A session anyone? | Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

  5. Pingback: “Let’s see YOU do better!” | I Could Be Arguing In My Spare Time

Comment!

