Poetry- The Shire

I’m taking a poetry class this quarter- and whenever I come into contact with poetry, I get compelled to write some of my own. So expect a lot of verse from me in future as I try to get back into practice for this class. My current goal/project for January is at least nine poems all related to various locations in Tolkien’s wonderful Middle-Earth. Hopefully there will be something worth reading among them!

…they looked back and saw the lamps in Hobbiton far off twinkling in the gentle valley of the water. Soon it disappeared into the folds of the darkened land, and was followed by Bywater beside its grey pool. When the light of the last farm was far behind, peeping among the trees, Frodo turned and waved a hand in farewell.
‘I wonder if I shall ever look down into that valley again,’ he said quietly.
The Fellowship of the Ring, Ch. 3

The Shire:
The doors are round and weathered,
The lawns are rich and green.
The gardens bright
All drenched in light
From sun and smiles unfettered.

When the Sun lays down her head
The taverns fill with laughter.
The songs are loud,
And jokes abound
While the hearth and fire gleam red.

A children’s tale lightly told
Is the darkest thing it knows.
It’s Frodo’s fate
To keep it safe
From the power of a ring of gold.

Something’s stirring in the East
Throughout the outside world.
Night is growing,
Fears are showing,
But the Shire feels it least.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Poetry- The Shire

    • Thanks so much! I had fun writing that poem, and the art is all Ted Naismith, whose work I absolutely adore. I feel like the structure of the poem is still a little clumsy; rhythm was never my strong point, but that’s why I’m writing verse again: in the hopes of improving.

Comment!

